Tags

, , , , , ,


Inspired by Kate’s recent entry on How to be a Hit among your Chosen Demographic, I have an interesting to share with everyone too.

If everyone has been following on my races this year, I have completed two half marathons – one in Norway when the weather was excellent and one in Croydon when it was cold. Of course being able to cover these distances requires a fair bit of training and I have spent quite a fraction of my time on running. However, I have been diagnosed with planta faciitis – known to be an inflammation of the tendon – on my right foot. I have been hobbling around for a while and my speed of walking has reduced by half. My new earned nick name is ‘hob’ and though it is a little inconvenient, I decided to make most of it by spending more time with my bed.

It was just a small injury at first, I believe. But now I will be out of action for weeks or maybe months, depending on the rate of recovery. How did the injury get so serious, one may ask. Well, that’s a good story to tell –

1. Try not to stretch too much before and after runs which covers up to 10km or takes more than 30minutes. Repeat this for months.

2. When doing intensive exercises, remember not to prepare your body too much and push yourself over the limit during the actual run.

3. After feeling a slight pain in your foot, remember not to examine it further when you feel no pain during walking. Even when the pain period has resulted in you hobbling around for up to two days.

4. Resume your running routine after you thought you have ‘recovered’. Repeat this step 3 times.

5. Press on with your feet even when you feel pain when running. Convince yourself that it’s only a slight ache.

There. Five simple steps to possibly get yourself afflicted with planta faciitis(plus a slightly collapsed arch) .

