Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


I would.

In the past one to two years, I have received invites from friends and they will usually begin their invite with – Would you be interested in AAA?  I have tickets for it and would like you to come along. I am usually quite easy going and unless the mentioned play or concert is too boring, I will usually be quite excited and say yes without thinking too much into it unless the mentioned event happened to be too expensive for something that I would be reluctant to pay for as I do not see the satisfaction alignment of – price and enjoyment of something I am not extremely keen on.

Recently, I have come to realised the reason why they had more than one ticket – because they didn’t want to go alone.  I have had similar occasions before when I wanted to watch certain concerts and no one I knew was interested – in the end the desire to enjoy the concert drove me to buy a lone ticket rather than to spend time trying to convince anyone of going with me. Firstly it was not cheap and secondly, the latter exhausted me far more than I would admit. I enjoyed the concert thoroughly – busked in the performance and totally immersed myself in the atmosphere – all by myself! If in fact, a reluctant friend had accompanied me and did not enjoy the show – all the happy feelings I had would be marred by the guilty feeling that the kind friend was just there to accompany me.  Does that feel strange to anyone?

Activities like watching a play, a movie, a concert or even going to the museum – all these are lone activities. The first three allow minimal interactions with friends and the latter – I have to keep looking out to make sure we are covering the items at the same pace – creating stress if for example a friend’s and my viewing speed differs by a huge bit. An activity like having a drink at a pub,  a meal or something more interactive like a ball game is more of a companion activity – in my humble view. Even swimming or running are lone sports for serious enthusiasts.  I always wonder the people who head to the pool for two laps and start chatting after that – how much have they swam? Unless the companion possess an encouragement element – competitive wise, the task of coordinating the schedule or going for the activity when I am not up for it just tires me out. Example if I head to a pool with a friend, I would expect myself to be covering at least 20 laps at the end of it rather than a chit chat session. If it’s for a catch up session, I would rather sit down to have a coffee and relax.

I like to do things at my whim and fancy and not having to wait for the convenience of someone else. It might sound slightly peculiar but to me it’s logical – go when I want to and enjoy it rather than compromising and waiting and perhaps feeling bad after that. And at times, when I head for an activity alone, I end up knowing new friends and knowing new things as well! The extra friend coming along somehow does limit my my full learning instinct at times as I struggle multi-task – to talk and do something else at the same time. A good example will be to count the number of strokes or laps while having a conversation at the same time. What does everyone think?

Anyway, I bought an Olympic ticket for swimming this year and I am going by myself. Looking forward to it and I will be excited to share with everyone my experience in August 🙂

