Tags


I like this word – not just because it has six syllabus and rolls off your tongue nicely with the correct phonetics.

When I first came across this word before, I always thought it was associated with a negative feeling. Maybe because it ends with “pity” so naturally we instinctively link it with to an expression of pitifulness.
There was movie in 2001 – by John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale – a romantic movie dependent on luck and chance. However, I have not watched it before hence it was only just earlier I came upon this work by I Rhyme without Reason’s – Serendipity. It pushed me to locate the meaning and from dictionary.com it states this:

In 1754, Horace Walpole (1717-92) wrote a letter to Mann (dated Jan. 28) when he created this word. He said he formed it from the Persian fairy tale “The Three Princes of Serendip,” whose heroes “were always making discoveries, by accidents and sagacity, of things they were not in quest of.”

Apparently, things happening by a stroke of luck without actually being pursued has a history long before our time. Since this has always been happening to mankind, so can I safely conclude this particular sort of happening will live into the future? Strengthening our belief that opportunities and possibilities are all around us – they do take place, dont they?

